As the world becomes more complex, public policy makers will need to call on STEM experts and technical problem solvers for consultation, advice, and collaboration. Fellows will see this interaction firsthand in site visits, speakers, and individual research for a capstone public policy project.


1. Fellows attend an introductory policy “boot camp”, during which they will learn about the policy-making process at the Capitol and acquire the skills they will need to be a part of it.
2. Fellows visit external sites where technology and policy intersect to experience that interaction firsthand and to engage with stakeholders.
3. Fellows attend presentations from guest speakers who are knowledgeable on the intersection between technology and policy.
4. Fellows are be provided with the time, space, and resources necessary to research, design, and write their own policy proposal, which they will present during the final week of the fellowship.

Past Site Visits

  • Arapahoe Basin Ski Resort
  • DCP Midstream Platteville Plant
  • Lockheed Martin
  • National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Regional Transportation District Headquarters
  • Public Utilities Commission Offices
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Renewable & Sustainable Energy Institute
  • Google Boulder Campus
  • National Wind Technology Center

Past Speakers

State Government
-Jason Gelender, Office of Legislative Legal Services
-Jennifer Berman, Office of Legislative Legal Services
-Erin Reynolds, Legislative Council
-John Ziegler, Joint Budget Committee
-Julie Pelegrin, Office of Legislative Legal Services
-Will Toor, Colorado Energy Office
-Ginny Brannon, Division of Reclamation Mining and Safety
-Doug Vilsack, Dept of Natural Resources
-Andy Karsian, Dept of Transportation
-Dave Young, State Treasurer
-John Putnam, Dept of Public Health and Environment
-Inta Morris, Dept of Education
-Zach Pierce, Governor’s Office
-Becky Mitchell, CO Water Conservation Board
-Lauren Larson, Office of State Planning & Budgeting
-Dan Gibbs, Dept of Natural Resources
-Jack Ihle, Xcel Energy
-Tanuj Deora, Simple Energy
-Bryan Leach, Ibotta
-Courtney Loper, PDC Energy
-Matt Wendel, Colorado Technology Association
-Erik Anglund, Anadarko
-J.W. Postal, Nikola
-Brian Payer, Sphera
-Thad Kurowski, Tesla
-Dahvi Wilson, Apex Clean Energy
-Mike Kruger, COSSA
-Paul Zoby, American Energy Assets
-Scott Prestidge, COGA

-Gregory Hobbs, University of Denver
-Morgan Bazillian, CO School of Mines
-K.K. DuVivier, University of Denver
-Deserai Crow, CU Denver
-Jill Dupre, CU Boulder
Non-Profit Sector
-Nada Culver, Wilderness Society
-Tom Figel, GRID Alternatives
-Emily Gedeon, Sierra Club
-Amelia Myers, Conservation Colorado

%d bloggers like this: